F5E8B1B0-ECCD-4498-B407-399C94B91EBB Created with sketchtool. The Inspiring 2017 SA Science Excellence Award Winners

Supported By

  Last updated September 20, 2017 at 4:59 pm

Find out the winners of the SA Science Excellence Awards and highlights from the #SAScienceAwards gala dinner celebrating all things excellent!

On Friday 11 August, over 300 guests from the university and research sector and industry from South Australia congregated to celebrate the 2017 SA Science Excellence Awards.

Whilst the food was delicious, the live brass band were great, and the wine was flowing, the excellent quality of finalists and winners was what really made it such an inspiring night. The gala dinner was a great start for National Science Week in Adelaide. P.S. full disclosure, our very own programs manager, Dr Lisa Bailey, was up for Unsung Hero of SA – Science Communication!

The SA Science Excellence Awards go way back to 2005 but the contributions to science made by South Australians have been going on for a long time (shout out to the Braggs, a Nobel Prize winning duo of father and son).

Six awards were given out to incredible individuals:

South Australian Scientist of the Year Award – Prof James Paton, University of Adelaide

PhD Research Excellence Award – Dr Joel Fuller, University of South Australia

STEM Professional Award – Dr Duncan Taylor, Forensic Science SA

STEM Educator of the Year – School Teaching – Mr Thierry Herman, Le Fevre High School

STEM Educator of the Year – Tertiary Teaching – Dr Claudia Szabo, University of Adelaide

Excellence in Research Collaboration – Developing a world leading intelligent medical device in South Australia, University of Adelaide, Australian Centre for Visual Technologies and LBT Innovations Ltd

This year, three other awards usually given out at other events were also added to the gala dinner night.

SA Young Tall Poppy of the Year Award – Dr Laura Weyrich

Unsung Hero of SA – Science – Peri and Faith Coleman, Environmental Science Consultants

Unsung Hero of SA – Science Communication – Dr Ian Musgrave, University of Adelaide

The night featured inspiring speeches from Susan Close MP, Minister for Education and Child Development, Minister for Higher Education and Skills and the 2016 SA Scientist of the Year, Prof Alan Cooper.

The keynote presentation from Dr Jordan Nguyen, a biomedical engineer/inventor/TV host/probably-a-dozen-more-things was inspiring both for his work on mobility devices but also for showcasing the humanity behind what innovation in science and technology can achieve.

Congratulations again to all the winners and finalists!

Check out our tweets from the night below!

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram to get all the latest science.

About the Author

Kelly Wong
Contributing editor for News + Events and the online producer at Australia's Science Channel. I have a background in immunology, food blogging, volunteering, and social media. I'm passionate about creating communities on social media and getting them excited about science. I enjoy good food and I am on an eternal mission to find the best ice cream. Find me on Twitter @kellyyyllek


Published By

Science and technology is as much a part of our cultural fabric as art, music, theatre and literature. They play a significant role in our daily lives, yet, in a world dependent on science, we often take them for granted. Australia’s Science Channel believes every citizen has a right, and a responsibility, to be informed, and our mission is to create programs to bring that about.

Featured Videos